LibGuides: Statistics: Population and Immigrant Statistics

Google Quick Search: Population

Examine public data in Google

Search demographic terms like population or unemployment rate, followed by a county, state or country, and you'll get instant data about your chosen location directly from the U.S. Census Bureau and the Bureau of Labor Statistics. From there, you can click through to compare rates in different locations.

Population Statistics

Human Development Reports Data
Full text of UNDP Human Development Reports, from 1990 to the next to most current year, plus national Human Development Reports and an excellent statistics section on industrialized and developing countries.
National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS)
Easy access to summary tables and time series of population, housing, agriculture, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible boundary files, for years from 1790 through the present and for all levels of U.S. census geography, including states, counties, tracts, and blocks.
Pew Social & Demographic Trends
Studies behaviors and attitudes of Americans in key realms of their daily lives, using original survey research and analysis of government data. Major reports have examined the racial wealth gap, the Millennial Generation and marriage & family trends.
Population in the U.S. - Google Public Data Explorer
Population estimates for US States, counties, cities and other places, by sex and gender. This dataset was prepared by Google based on data downloaded from U.S. Census Bureau, Population Division.
U.S. Census Bureau
Authoritative data on the U.S. population.
UNHCR Population Statistics Database
Provides data and trends on the "Population of concern to UNHCR": refugees, asylum-seekers, returned refugees, internally displaced persons (IDPs) protected/assisted by UNHCR, returned IDPs, stateless persons, and others of concern to UNHCR, in more than 150 countries.
United States Foreign Born Population
United States Census data and reports about immigration. Data includes Census 2000 demographic profiles by country of birth. Reports primarily cover special topics and trends

Image source: "Population globe" by mcmurryjulie, Pixabay, is licensed under CC0 (public domain)

(Im)migration Statistics

Center for Immigration Studies Data Portal
CIS is a non-profit think tank devoted to research and policy analysis of the economic, social, demographic, fiscal, and other impacts of immigration on the US.
International Migration Outlook - OECD
OECD’s annual publication analysing recent developments in migration movements and policies in its countries. Each edition provides the latest statistical information on immigrant stocks and flows, immigrants in the labour market, and migration policies. Country Reports provide detailed policy information for each OECD country and special reports look at current issues in immigration.
1992-present.
International Organization for Migration (Intl Govt Org)
Intergovernmental body acting with its partners in the international community to assist in meeting the challenges of migration, advance understanding of migration issues, and uphold the dignity and well-being of migrants. Includes country synopses and publications such as the World Migration Reports.
Migration & Remittances Data - World Bank
Includes fact book that provides a snapshot of migration and remittances for all countries, regions and income groups of the world, annual remittances data, bilateral migration matrix, and some downloadable datasets.
Migration Policy Institute - Migration Data Hub
Includes country and comparative data, including many country profiles (with links) and US trends.
U.S. Census Bureau Migration Data
The U.S. Census Bureau provides a variety of demographic, social, economic, geographic, and housing information on the foreign-born population in the United States.
UNdata
"A World of Data." Single search interface for data produced and collected by various United Nations (UN) organizations.
Yearbook of Immigration Statistics
Yearbook of Immigration Statistics (formerly entitled Statistical Yearbook of the Immigration and Naturalization Service) is published by the US Office of Immigration Statistics, Office of Management, Department of Homeland Security (DHS).

Image source: "Passport map" by cytis, Pixabay, is licensed under CC0 (public domain)

Statistics: Population and Immigrant Statistics

Google Quick Search: Population

Examine public data in Google

Population Statistics

(Im)migration Statistics

Attribution