Statistics: Health Statistics

This data portal was developed to enable health, environmental, population and exposure information and data to be viewed and analyzed in one place.

Find out how healthy your county is and explore factors that drive your health.

Health status data are collected on Louisiana's vital event certificates of Live Birth, Spontaneous Fetal Death (stillbirth), Induced Termination of Pregnancy (induced abortion), Death, Marriage, and Divorce. Data collected on these certificates are used to describe trends and current status in infant and maternal health and in the causes of death most prevalent in race, gender, and age groups.

Demographics, health, and health policy, including health coverage, access, financing and state legislation.

Guide to health and health-related epidemiological and statistical information available from World Health Organization (WHO). (Formerly WHOSIS: WHO Statistical Information System).

Federal interagency forum on aging-related statistics

"(W)orld’s largest, on-going telephone health survey system, tracking health conditions and risk behaviors in the United States yearly since 1984."

National Cancer Institute at the National Institutes of Health

Epi Info™ is a public domain suite of interoperable software tools designed for the global community of public health practitioners and researchers. It provides for easy data entry form and database construction, a customized data entry experience, and data analyses with epidemiologic statistics, maps, and graphs for public health professionals who may lack an information technology background.

Contains data and data sets from the U.S. Center for Disease Control

An online course from the National Library of Medicine which "describes the range of available health statistics, identifies their sources and helps you understand how to use information about their structure as you search."

Use the GHDx to research population census data, surveys, registries, indicators and estimates, administrative health data, and financial data related to health.

Data & Data Sets provided by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services. On this site, you can find data on a wide range of topics, including environmental health, medical devices, Medicare & Medicaid, social services, community health, mental health, and substance abuse.

Data on more than 700 health topics covering the United States.

Measures of child well-being, including education, economics, family and community, health, safety and risky behaviors. View community-level or state data, or compare cities and states across the U.S.

Portal of datasets, data tools, and statistics about children, pregnant women and their families put together by Maternal & Child Health Library at Georgetown University.

Provides access to a wide range of statistics and data sets in the fields of medicine and health and includes FastStats for quick summary data.

The National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES) is a program of studies designed to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the United States. The survey is unique in that it combines interviews and physical examinations.

Huge compilation of US data, covers topics like energy consumption, life expectancy and consumer prices.

Data on health topics including mortality, child health and nutrition, environmental health, violence, and more. Includes annual summary of health-related data for WHO member states.

In addition to maps with age-adjusted death rates for each health service area (HSA), the atlas includes maps that compare each HSA rate to the national rate, smoothed maps for each cause that show the broad geographic patterns at selected ages, and a chart with regional rates for each cause of death.

Searchable compilation of Centers for Disease Control (CDC) reports, guidelines, and health data for disease and demographic groups. Includes surveillance data, Healthy People 2010, MMWR, and other CDC publications.

The "Rainbow Series". Data including vital statistics, morbidity, health resources and utilization of health resources. Indexed in PubMed.

Annual reports that present detailed vital statistics data, including nationality, mortality, marriage and divorce.

This page is a portal to the online data dissemination activities of the Division of Vital Statistics, including both interactive online data access tools and downloadable public use data files.

This website offers information and statistics on suicide in the United States. Search an interactive map, compare statistics, and get printable fact-sheets.

This website provides a lot of information about suicide and suicide prevention. Under "resources" search through factsheets and statistics.