This guide will help you to use the library resources and services during temporarily limited operations. Please feel free to contact a librarian with any questions.
Looking for a New Book to Read?
This page will highlight new eBook & Audiobook titles available to University Library patrons *Must link out to this site from MyPortal for eBooks and audiobooks to authenticate
Popular
Audio Books
AAPI
Black Lives Matter - Recommended titles covering topics of race, as well as fiction titles.
Distance Learning & Remote Work
Nursing
Career
Global Health, Public Health & Epidemiology
Health Professions
General Education
Cooking & Food
Looking for More? Search other University Library eBook Collections by Platform
eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost)This link opens in a new windowThis growing subscription package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, and is a strong complement for any academic collection. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs.
eBook Business Collection (EBSCOhost)This link opens in a new windowThis collection offers nearly 20,000 business e-books selected to assist students and scholars with various business research, special project and entrepreneurial needs. A key resource for academic and business school libraries, eBook Business Collection encompasses a variety of topics, such as marketing, finance, supply chain management and entrepreneurship.
Titles are available from many noteworthy academic and business publishers, including Oxford University Press, Cambridge Scholars Publishing, World Scientific Publishing Company, Princeton University Press, AMACOM and Gallup Press.
All titles are available with unlimited user access, and titles are regularly added to the package.
eBook Nursing Collection (EBSCOhost)This link opens in a new windowDesigned for use in hospitals, medical institutions and academic institutions with nursing or allied health programs, this subscription collection features more than 600 hand-selected, quality e-books that focus on the needs of nursing professionals, including clinical guides, evidence-based practice manuals, practical handbooks and professional growth titles.
All titles are available with unlimited user access, and titles are regularly added to the collection.
eBook Religion Collection (EBSCOhost)This link opens in a new windowThis unique collection features more than 8,600 e-books from trusted publishers covering a broad range of religious subjects including philosophy, ethics, Christianity, Judaism, Islam, Buddhism, religious texts and more. This dynamic compilation of texts explores religious beliefs, faith, cultural systems and world views and provides a key resource to meet the needs of students and scholars in their research.
Titles are available from a variety of distinguished academic, university and religious publishers, Oxford University Press, University of California Press, Brill Academic Press, De Gruyter, InterVarsity Press, Harvard University Press, Society of Biblical Literature, State University of New York Press, Peter Lang and The Jewish Publication Society.
All titles are available with unlimited user access, and titles are regularly added to the collection.
eBook University Press (EBSCOhost)This link opens in a new windowThis collection contains more than 35,000 multidisciplinary e-books from more than 90 of the best university presses in the world. Covering a variety of subjects such as technology, science, literature and humanities, the collection serves a full range of audiences, offering basic introductory texts to high-level research materials.
Audiobook Collection (EBSCOhost)This link opens in a new windowSearch audiobooks, listen to samples, and download your selection.
Open Educational Resources (OERs)
Directory of Open Access BooksThis link opens in a new windowThe primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books.As of August 24, 2017 there were 8787 Academic peer-reviewed books and chapters from 224 publishers.
JSTOR Open ContentThis link opens in a new windowExplore academic content on JSTOR that is open to everyone, everywhere. Search thousands of free journal articles and open access book chapters.
LOUIS Faculty PortalThis link opens in a new windowUsing the Louisiana Statewide Common Course Catalog, LOUIS created and maintains a list of potential open educational resources (OERs) that faculty may choose to adopt in their courses. The Open Textbook Library is the primary source of OER content for this project and content from other OER repositories will be included on an ongoing basis.
OER CommonsThis link opens in a new windowFrom a single point of access in OER Commons, you can search, browse, and evaluate resources in OER Commons' growing collection of over 50,000 high-quality OER.
OpenStaxThis link opens in a new windowOpenStax is a nonprofit based at Rice University whose mission is to improve student access to education. Their first openly licensed college textbook was published in 2012, and the library has since scaled to more than 20 books for college and AP courses used by hundreds of thousands of students.
SAGE eBooksThis link opens in a new windowThis robust collection of over 5000 titles is available for 1 year, through the library's membership in LOUIS's Affordable Learning LOUISiana Initiative. High usage titles and titles used in courses will be reviewed and purchased at the end of the 1 year period.
R2 Digital LibraryThis link opens in a new windowThe R2 Digital Library is a web based database from Rittenhouse Book Distributors. It offers fully integrated and searchable medical, nursing and allied health source book content from key health science publishers, on a web based platform.
This collection is set up as a patron driven acquisition model. Most books are not owned, but when titles are used, librarians can track interest and purchase titles based on the data.
